A year ago, I bought a juicer after my second bought with purchasing a juice cleanse from a local specialty shop. I know you are curious where… it was Peeled in Chicago and Evanston. Both stores operations are a mess!! The service was very unreliable as they never returned calls.  The juices didn’t have labels or dates stamped on the bottles of juice, so I had to guess which was which by the color and  I had no idea when the juices were made. Basically, the quality just didn’t seem worth the money. Although I did purchase a couple of Groupons at first to offset the costs, these juice cleanses retail for over $225-$350.  Realizing I could make this on my own at a fraction of the cost, plus knowing the cost of my juicer would pay for itself the first time I make a supply of juice, I set-out to find recipes to match these specialty shops.

Below is a link to a blogger, who came up with a formula for a juice cleanse. Specialty Stores like Peeled in Chicago & Evanston, IL, as well as, BluPrint in NYC are using recipes very similar and some seem  ‘dead-on.”  Its a how-to do-it-yourself step-by-step blog with shopping lists and instructions on how to craft your own juices. Each day on the cleanse you will drink 6 juice bottles, 16oz each.  The ingredients are meant to alkalize your body and rid you system of the toxins built up from the harmful foods and drinks we digest.

After a year and half of juicing, I have yet to find another blog that gives the detail as this one does.. so I highly recommend it!

Juice Cleanse

*Please note: If you have not done the cleanse be sure to read about how to prepare your body for going on and off a juice cleanse, especially if you want to see the best results. Basically, if your diet consists of a lot of fast, processed foods high in carbs and red meats, you should consider carefully how to do the juice cleanse. But if you already have a structured diet plan in place for yourself, this will be a terrific addition to add to your routine. You can choose a 3, 5 or 7 day cleanse. I do the 3-day cleanse  four times a year, and I juice weekly (if possible) usually one day a week, all day. Some people do a cleanse monthly. It all depends on you!